Project Location Borobudur-Yogyakarta-Prambanan

Priority Tourism Destinations

Borobudur-Yogyakarta-Prambanan destination includes three areas for tourism development, each representing the rich Javanese cultural heritage. First, the Borobudur area (Kecamatan Borobudur and Kecamatan Mungkid) which includes the Borobudur Temple Complex—a UNESCO World Heritage Site, several other ancient temples and surrounding cultural villages. Second, the Prambanan-Boko area (Kecamatan Prambanan in Central Java Province and Kecamatan Prambanan in the Special Region of Yogyakarta) includes the UNESCO World Heritage Site of the Prambanan Temple Compound and Ratu Boko. The third area is Yogyakarta city with several key cultural heritage attractions. Yogyakarta is also the destination base for domestic and foreign tourists, because it is a transport hub for road, air and rail, and the primary cluster of available accommodation (91% of hotel rooms are in the Special Region of Yogyakarta, 9% are in Kabupaten Magelang) and services, and because of its proximity to the main other attractions in the area such as Prambanan.

The overall delineation for tourism development of the Borobudur – Yogyakarta – Prambanan Destinations consist of: (a) Borobudur Cluster covering Kecamatan Tempuran, Kecamatan Mertoyudan, Kecamatan Muntilan, Kecamatan Borobudur, and Kecamatan Mungkid; (b) Prambanan - Boko Cluster covering Kecamatan Prambanan in Kabupaten Sleman and Kecamatan Prambanan in Kabupaten Klaten; and (c) Yogyakarta Cluster covering Kota Yogyakarta.

No. Title File Category Download